My experience as a RE/Ambassador

Giulia Polo
2 min readDec 3, 2020

--

It was September, or maybe October (I can’t remember for sure!), when I saw the Instagram stories of Iris Skrami. She is co-founder of Renoon, a search platform for sustainable fashion, and she was proposing a new opportunity, I thought “who am I not to listen?”.
She was talking about the opportunity to became ambassador of Renoon (namely: RE/Ambassador).

I applied.

Role of RE/Ambassadors

RE/Ambassadors are students or newly graduated students with strong communication skills who love fashion and sustainability. Our mission is to raise awareness about sustainable fashion and Renoon through social media.

Importance of values

There are some values which have always been important to me.

Firstly, I really believe in sustainability and I think every single person should try to be a more conscious consumer. I hope sustainability will be the key to our future because we need to reduce the footprint that we leave behind.

Secondly, I believe in innovation. Technology (if used for the right causes) can drive the change for a better future and for a more sustainable fashion industry. Nowadays fashion is the second most polluting industry after oil, but things can change if consumers become more conscious and brands start to integrate ethic, aesthetic and innovation.

I strongly believe in what I’ve just said and Renoon has exactly these values.

Reflections on my time as a RE/ambassador so far

It is only one month I’m a RE/ambassador but I can surely say I’m even a more conscious consumer than before. I’ve learned a lot of vocabularies about sustainable fashion and I enjoyed the chance to write articles about the importance of labels on garments and the future of leather. In addition, it has been cool to have the opportunity to talk with the co-founders in order to discover the “backstage” of Renoon. It has been an exciting month!

But it’s not only about learning, now I can happily say I’m also part of an amazing group of open-minded and motivated people who share the same goals. I feel part of a movement aimed to spread awareness about the topic of sustainability and to show an alternative to the current fashion industry which has heavy negative environmental and social impacts.

I really suggest everyone who is interested in reshaping the future of fashion through sustainability to be part of this project which has such cool values and prospects.

Click here if you want to know more about the RE/ambassador program.

--

--